Reid Banks, Lynne (1929- )

The Lynne Reid Banks collection consists of manuscripts, correspondence, printed material, and other items.

Manuscripts by Reid Banks in the collection include her novels (both adult and juvenile fiction), plays, and other works.

Manuscripts for Reid Banks's adult novels include The World on the Other Side (unfinished, ca. 1963); Children at the Gate (Simon and Schuster, 1968); The Backward Shadow (Simon and Schuster, 1970); Two Is Lonely (Simon and Schuster, 1974); Dark Quartet: The Story of the Brontës (Weidenfeld and Nicholson, 1976); Path to the Silent Country: Charlotte Brontë's Years of Fame (Weidenfeld and Nicholson, 1977); Defy the Wilderness (Chatto and Windus, 1981); The Warning Bell (Hamish Hamilton, 1984); Casualties (Hamish Hamilton, 1986); and Fair Exchange (Piatkus Books, 1998).

Reid Banks's juvenile novels include One More River (Simon and Schuster, 1973); Sarah and After: The Matriarchs (Bodley Head, 1975); The Adventures of King Midas (Dent / Morrow, 1976); The Farthest-Away Mountain (Abelard Schuman, 1976); I, Houdini: The Autobiography of a Self-Educated Hamster (Dent, 1978); My Darling Villain (Harper, 1977); The Indian in the Cupboard (Dent, 1980); The Writing on the Wall (Chatto and Windus, 1981); Maura's Angel (Dent, 1984); The Secret of the Indian (Collins, 1988); The Magic Hare (Morrow, 1993); The Mystery of the Cupboard (Morrow, 1993); Broken Bridge (Morrow, 1994); Angela and Diabola (Avon, 1997); Harry the Poisonous Centipede (Morrow, 1997); Moses in Egypt (Thomas Nelson Publishers, 1998); Key to the Indian (HarperTrophy, 1999); Alice-By-Accident (HarperCollins, 2000); The Dungeon (HarperCollins, 2002); and Harry the Poinsonous Centipede's Big Adventure (HarperTrophy, 2002).

Plays by Reid Banks in the collection include The Wednesday Caller (produced by the BBC, 1963); The Stowaway (radio play produced by the BBC, ca. 1964 and 1967); Purely from Principal (radio play produced by the BBC, 1985); The Travels of Yoshi and the Tea-Kettle (produced in London at Polka Children's Theatre, 1991); and a play version of Reid Banks's novel The L-Shaped Room .

Other works by Reid Banks in the collection include the non-fiction works Letters to My Israeli Sons (H. W. Allen, 1979); Torn Country: An Oral History of the Israeli War of Independence (F. Watts, 1982), screenplay titled A Speck of Green (date unknown); and various short stories and essays (ca. 1969-1984)

Manuscripts by others in the collection include a radio play adaptation of Reid Banks's The L-Shaped Room, by Valerie Windsor (1996); Melissa Mathison's screenplay for the movie version of The Indian in the Cupboard (1995; directed by Frank Oz); and "Ha Tikva," a "behavioral analysis" of Reid Banks's Children at the Gate, by Mark Walmsley (1973).

Correspondence in the collection consists of professional letters regarding Reid Banks's writings and their adaptations (1973-2001). Other correspondence includes fan mail from teachers and school children (1991-2001) and letters regarding a trip to Bosnia for Feed the Children (1995).

Printed material in the collection includes a teacher's guide to The Indian in the Cupboard, copies of published stories articles by Reid Banks, reviews and newspaper clippings regarding Reid Banks, reproductions of illustrations used in Reid Banks's books, and other miscellaneous material.

Other items in the collection include royalty statements and various miscellany.

Notable Figures
1. Banks, Lynne Reid, 1929-
Associated Subjects
1. Women's Studies Collections -- Children's Literature Subject Guide
2. Literary Collections Subject Guide
3. Theatre and Film Subject Guide
4. Children's Literature Subject Guide
5. Helen Deutsch Research Section