Benatar, Stephen (1937- )

The Stephen Benatar collection primarily consists of manuscripts and galley proofs for novels and plays written by Benatar. It also contains correspondence, printed material, and memorabilia, among other items.

Manuscripts in the collection include novels such as Recovery (1996); The Golden Voyage of Samson Groves (1998); Stars (2006); Two on a Tiger (2006); and several books whose publication status is uncertain, including Across My Grave; Dead Reckoning; Firebrand; The Moving Staircase; The Road to Trevor Lomax, or Swimming with William; Superman in a Blue Suit; and Until We Met. Also present are partial drafts of book-length works; short stories; loose pages; and handwritten notebooks.

Correspondence in the collection includes postcards and cards; personal letters (1985-1995); professional correspondence with publishers, literary agents, and theatres (1985-1995); business correspondence (1986-1990); and general correspondence (2000-2012). The series also includes files regarding Graeme Jones (1984-2012), and Robert Hale Limited (2005).

Printed material in the collection includes book reviews and articles about Benatar; research material; magazines such as The Sunday Times Magazine and The Week (2010); a flyer for the Writer’s Festival in Nottingham (1989); reviews; and newspaper and magazine clippings, among other items.

Memorabilia in the collection includes a book list; 2 small wooden boxes, one containing a crucifix; 2 coins from 1953 and 1981; a small desk diary; and a British Library reader pass (2012).

Notable Figures
1. Benatar, Stephen
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Novelists
3. Teachers
4. Novels
5. English literature – 20th century
6. Authors, English
7. Fiction