Aumont, Jean-Pierre (1911-2001)

The Jean-Pierre Aumont collection includes manuscripts, printed material, and photographs.

Manuscripts by Aumont in the collection include his plays Ange, the Miraculous (translated by June Hinton, 1959); Beatrice, or the Apple of His Eye (translation); and Madame Ponce (American adaptation by Erich Segal); as well as his autobiography Sun and Shadow (Norton, 1977).

Printed material in the collection include Aumont's plays L'Empereur de Chine (ca. 1951); L'Ile Heureuse (ca. 1951); and Farfada (ca. 1959). The collection also includes reviews, promotional material, programs and posters regarding Aumont, his writings, and his performances (1962-1977).

Photographs in the collection date from 1929 to 1978. They consist of images from Aumont's personal and professional lives, including stills from films and plays; many are identified on the verso of the image. Films represented include Cross of Lorraine (1942); Fandago (1946); Song of Scheherezade (1946); Atlantis (1947); Lili (1952); Hilda Crane (1957); The Seventh Sin (1957); Castle Keep (1968); and Cat and Mouse (1970). Plays and musicals represented include Bizarre, Bizarre (1938); Amphytrion 38 (1960); A Second Spring (1961); Tovarich (1963); South Pacific (1970); Gigi (1977); and Long Journeys in the Trees (1978). Personal photographs include several of his daughter Tia, his house La Malmaison, and Aumont shaking hands with Queen Juliana of the Netherlands.
Notable Figures
1. Aumont, Jean-Pierre
Associated Subjects
1. Theatre and Film Subject Guide
2. Posters
3. Actors -- France -- Biography
4. Motion picture industry – United States
5. Motion picture actors and actresses -- United States
6. Programs
7. Photographs