Elkins, Aaron J. (1935- )

The Aaron Elkins collection consists of manuscripts, correspondence, printed material, photographs, video, and audio.

Manuscripts by Elkins in the collection include Fellowship of Fear (Walker & Co., 1982); The Dark Place (Walker & Co., 1983); Murder in the Queen's Armes (Walker & Co., 1985); A Deceptive Clarity (Walker & Co., 1987); Old Bones (Mysterious Press, 1987); Curses! (Mysterious Press, 1989); A Wicked Slice, written with Charlotte Elkins (St. Martin's Press, 1989); Icy Clutches (Mysterious Press, 1990); Make No Bones (Mysterious Press, 1991); A Glancing Light (Scribner, 1991); Old Scores (Scribner, 1993); Dead Men's Hearts (Mysterious Press, 1994); Rotten Lies, written with Charlotte Elkins (Mysterious Press, 1995); Twenty Blue Devils (Mysterious Press, 1997); Nasty Breaks, written with Charlotte Elkins (Mysterious Press, 1997); Loot (William Morrow, 1999); Skeleton Dance (William Morrow, 2000); Turncoat (William Morrow, 2002); Good Blood (Berkley Prime Crime, 2004); Where Have All the Birdies Gone? written with Charlotte Elkins (Severn House Publishers, 2004); Where There's a Will  (Berkley Prime Crime, 2005); Unnatural Selection (Berkley, 2006); and Little Tiny Teeth (Berkeley, 2007).  In addition to variant full-length drafts, the titles above include various other materials, such as journals, diaries, notebooks, correspondence, photographs, and research material.  Other manuscripts include various articles and short stories by Elkins.


Correspondence in the collection includes letters to and from various publishers, editors, and friends.  The letters date from 1981 to 1998, and include letters from Sue Grafton and Barbara Mertz.


Printed material in the collection includes several reviews of Elkins’s novels; published versions of various short pieces by Elkin; programs; and other items.  Also present are four publicity posters.


Photographs in the collection consist of various prints of Elkin, including prints considered for

use in an autobiography; Elkin teaching and playing harpsichord and guitar; research; travel; publicity; in Egypt with Barbara Mertz; and book jacket photos.


Video recordings in the collection consist of VHS cassettes of the television programs Nightwatch (September 1990); Inside Line (December 1991); Rhode Island Weekly (March 1996); The Mystery Writer: Aaron Elkins; and Mystery Readers Corner.


Audio recordings in the collection include book-on-tape versions of Twenty Blue Devils (1997) and Nasty Breaks (1997), as well as an interview with Elkins from 1994 and a panel discussion on art and antiques from 1997.

Notable Figures
1. Elkins, Aaron J.
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Authors, American
3. Crime -- Fiction
4. Detective and mystery stories
5. American literature--20th century