Guy, Rosa (1923-2012)
The Rosa Guy collection primarily consists of manuscripts; is also includes some printed material.

Manuscripts by Guy in the collection include the unpublished novels Benidine ; Black Heroes ; Dessalines – Tiger of the Antilles, based on the life of the First Emperor of Haiti; For What I Desire ; The Innocents ; and The Rage of the Silent Storm .

Manuscripts for dramatic works by Guy include her three play adaptations of her novels: The Friends (Bantam and Viking, 1973), which includes a teleplay script for Thames Television; The Disappearance (an adaptation of her novel by the same name; play published by Viking, 1979); and Paris, Pee-Wee and Big Dog (play published by Delacorte, 1985). Also included is her teleplay Mr. Hobson’s Happiest Day, a two-part comedy.

Other manuscripts by Guy in the collection include numerous articles, interviews, speeches, and talks from the 1970s and 1980s. Also present is her unpublished translation and adaptation of the story Compagnons Mauvaise ( Bad Companions ), by Biroago Diop.

Printed material in the collection consists of five articles by Guy printed in various magazines (1966-1985).
Notable Figures
1. Guy, Rosa
Associated Subjects
1. Women's Studies Collections -- Novels and Short Stories Subject Guide
2. African American Collections -- Novels Subject Guide
3. Literary Collections Subject Guide
4. Helen Deutsch Research Section
5. American literature -- African American authors
6. Novels
7. African American women authors
8. Scripts
9. African American screenwriters