Murphy, Rosemary (1927-2014)

The Rosemary Murphy collection consists of manuscripts, photographs, and other material.

Manuscripts make up the bulk of the collection. They consist of plays, films, and teleplays by various authors, many with notations by Murphy. Plays represented include Agnes of God, The Devil’s Disciple, Strange Interlude, Guilty Conscience, King Lear, Medea, Mourning Becomes Electra, Night of the Iguana, and The Tiny Closet Screenplays and teleplays primarily date from the 1970s, with some others from the 1980s and 1990s. Titles include All My Children, Ben, Eleanor and Franklin, Frasier, The Hand, Julia, Law and Order, Lucas Tanner, Magnum, P.I., and Walking Tall. Also present are three radio scripts.

Photographs in the collection include several head shots of Murphy, as well as stills from You’ll Like My Mother and Any Wednesday.

Other items in the collection are personal and professional correspondence, including a telegram from Tennessee Williams to Murphy; programs from productions in which Murphy appeared; newspaper clippings mentioning her; two scrapbooks covering her career (1956-1971 and 1962-1967); and publicity material.

Notable Figures
1. Murphy, Rosemary
Associated Subjects
1. Women's Studies Collections -- Drama, Film, and Television Subject Guide
2. Theatre and Film Subject Guide
3. Television Subject Guide
4. Helen Deutsch Research Section