Olsen, Paul (1933-2001)
The Paul Olsen collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, printed materials, and other materials.

Manuscripts in the collection include Olsen's books The Virgin of San Gil (1965), Country of Old Men (1966), Ukradziona Madonna (1967), Shadow of Me (1968), Kairos, and The Future of Being Human (1975). Also included is Olsen's work for Spectrum magazine in the late 1950s; pieces from the late 1950s and early 1960s, including "Conscience of the Race," "Dark Game," and "December Walk"; short pieces from college; works titled "The Suffering Voyager," "The Sound of Trumpets," "The Hand and the Yoke," "How Bitter the Wind"; and stories titled "The Horses of Caracalla," "A La Mere Poulard," and "The Flag is Down."

Correspondence in the collection includes letters to and from Louise Waller from 1965, letters to an unidentified person, and letters from Olsen to his fiancée (later his wife). Material is dated between 1958 and 1968.

Printed material in the collection includes some of Olsen's pieces for various periodicals, including works titled "Porcelain Wife," "A Loss of Pride," and "The Exception and the Rule," and newspaper clippings regarding The Virgin of San Gil and Country of Old Men.

Other materials in the collection include snapshots of Olsen as a boy in his baseball uniform, report cards for grades six and eight, a church bulletin from 1947, Olsen's notification of his nomination for the Pulitzer Prize, notebooks dated between 1960 and 1962, material related to a Ph.D. dissertation from 1963, and college examinations with Olsen's signature.
Notable Figures
1. Olsen, Paul
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Science Subject Guide