Ramati, Alexander (1921-2006)
The Alexander Ramati collection includes manuscripts and correspondence.

Manuscripts in the collection include Ramati's books Israel Today (1961), Assisi Underground (1978), Barbed Wire on the Isle of Man (1980), And the Violins Stopped Playing (1986), Ramati’s novel in progress Journey into the Past, and the outline for Begin’s Biography; screenplays titled “The Assisi Underground,” “For Those I Love,” “Light for the Village,” and “A Missing Person”; a poem from 1945 titled “Ti Saluto vision che fuggi”; and an article titled “The Birthday of Israel Television.” Also included are screenplays such as “Beyond the Mountains,” “The Revolt of the Defenseless,” “Trajan’s Column,” “Rebels against the Light,” and “Tanya,” as well as outlines for Journey into the Past, adaptations by Ramati for television, many articles written by Ramati, some under the pseudonym of Ludwik Brzeski, various playlets, play outlines, short stories, and miscellaneous notes and outlines.

Correspondence in the collection includes both professional and personal materials dated between 1948 and 1981. Professional material includes correspondence with publishers, agents, academics, producers, directors, actors, and internees on the Isle of Man. Personal material includes correspondence with family and friends of Ramati’s in the US and abroad. Notable correspondents include John Bright-Holmes, Lucy Kroll, Theodore Bikel, and Lord George Weidenfeld.
Notable Figures
1. Ramati, Alexander, 1921-
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Theatre and Film Subject Guide
3. Dramatists, Polish
4. Polish drama
5. Motion picture authorship
6. Polish literature – 20th century
7. Screenwriters