Rigby, Ray (1916-1998)
NOTE: All or part of this collection is stored off-site. Several days' advance notice is required for retrieval.

The Ray Rigby collection consists of manuscripts, notebooks, and audio material.

Manuscripts in the collection include drafts for screenplays, novels, and film scripts.  Screenplays include Here Lies Love (1964), The Hill (1964), The Defeated (1965), The Boy with a Meat Axe (1965), Revenge (1969), Where Have All The Soldiers Gone (1969), The End Begins (1970), and The Welfare Bloke (1970).  Novels include The Hill (1965), Moon In Scorpio (1970), and Jackson's Peace (1974).  Film scripts include Moon In Scorpio (based on the novel, 1970) and Jackson's War (1971).  Most manuscript material includes drafts and author’s notes.  There are also two undated story outlines titled Hill of Sand and If Freedom's There.

Notebooks in the collection primarily consist of notes related to manuscript material.  There are notebooks related to The Glass House (1964, an early draft of “The Hill”), The Hill (1965), Moon In Scorpio (1970), and Jackson's Peace (1974), and an early draft of No Rest for Johnnie (1964). 

Audio material in the collection includes a cassette tape of Rigby reading some of his poems and extracts from his novel Hill of Sand (1981).

Notable Figures
1. Rigby, Ray
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. English literature – 20th century
3. Authors, English
4. Audiotapes