Tryon, Thomas (1926-1991)
The Thomas Tryon collection consists of manuscripts, correspondence, printed material, and artwork.

Manuscripts by Tryon in the collection include drafts of his books (all published by Knopf except where indicated) The Other (1971); Harvest Home (1973); Lady (1974); Crowned Heads (1976); All That Glitters (1986); Night of the Moonbow (1988); The Wings of Morning (Viking, 1990); and In the Fire of Spring (1992).
The manuscripts for The Other include variant drafts, galleys, notes, drawings, maps, and a family tree of the characters. Also present is the manuscript for “Beautiful Ohio,” the short story which Tryon expanded into The Other; Tryon’s screenplay adaptation of The Other, produced in 1972, along with several document regarding the production; the “The Other Face,” Tryon’s lyrics to the theme song for the film. The manuscripts for Harvest Home include various notes, outlines, drawings, research material, and editorial material.

Correspondence in the collection primarily dates from 1971 to 1973, and consists of letters between Tryon and his editors and friends.Correspondents include editor Robert Gottlieb and actors Sydney Pinney and Allen Vincent.

Printed material in the collection dates from 1971, and consists of ads, listings, and reviews regarding The Other, as well as some articles regarding Tryon.
Also present are some newspaper clippings regarding the film version of The Other.

Artwork in the collection consists of photographic reproductions of two sketches by Tryon.One sketch is of scarecrows in a field, dated 1956.The other is a sketch made during the filming of The Glory Guys on location in Durango, Mexico, dated 1964.
Notable Figures
1. Tryon, Thomas
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Theatre and Film Subject Guide
3. LGBT Subject Guide
4. Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Subject Guide
5. Authors, American
6. Novelists, American
7. American literature--20th century
8. Fiction